The Philosophy Of John Dewey (2 Volumes In 1)

  • Sale
  • $16.09
  • Regular price $57.40
  • Publish Date: 1981-04-15
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: John Dewey

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

John J. McDermott's anthology, The Philosophy of John Dewey, provides the best general selection available of the writings of America's most distinguished philosopher and social critic. This comprehensive collection, ideal for use in the classroom and indispensable for anyone interested in the wide scope of Dewey's thought and works, affords great insight into his role in the history of ideas and the basic integrity of his philosophy.

This edition combines in one book the two volumes previously published separately. Volume 1, The Structure of Experience, contains essays on metaphysics, the logic of inquiry, the problem of knowledge, and value theory. In volume 2, The Lived Experience, Dewey's writings on pedagogy, ethics, the aesthetics of the live creature, politics, and the philosophy of culture are presented. McDermott has prefaced each essay with a helpful explanatory note and has written an excellent general introduction to the anthology.

Customer Reviews